Foreshadowing at its best…

Sweet Kisses   (click this link)

I wrote this during 2005 while in the midst of falling in love with my now ex-husband. I remember driving home from school one early fall day as several leaves began to playfully tumble across the street while causing my lips to cautiously smile. I immediately pulled to the side of the road to write this poem on a dirty old envelope that had been kicked around my car a few too many times, while my eyes could not help but be entranced by the sheer simplicity of the beautiful colors dancing their promises of love as the underlying tones forewarned of something harsher yet equally beautiful…they forewarned me of the bitterness of winter. Strangely, it made me think of how this relationship had caused my heart to cloud my mind with its newness…with its playfulness. At the same time, I was hesitant because I knew it would one day be consumed by an inevitable pain…as do all relationships. Unfortunately, my clouded mind could not resist ignoring the continuous red flags and I should have listened as I could have saved us both a lot of heartache, but some lessons are meant to be learned the hard way.

I still think of him when I see beautiful fall leaves dancing to the tune of life…only now I smile for having had the strength to walk away rather than staying in a relationship that never was and never would never be.

In the end, this poem was yet another glimpse of a life that I was never able to share with him.

2 thoughts on “Foreshadowing at its best…

  1. : ). You make me smile. I like that your sharing yourself. The good, the bad…with every moment you show of yourself to us, you’re stronger…more beautiful. : )

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

